Mental Health Foundation

UK Funding Committee

Mental Health Foundation

Peter Ainsworth — Chair of The National Lottery Community Fund

Peter Ainsworth

Peter Ainsworth has been The National Lottery Community Fund's UK Chair since June 2011.

"It is a great privilege to be associated with the Fund. Having been a keen supporter of the National Lottery ever since it started, I am hugely impressed by the scale and depth of the Fund's giving into communities, and to people most in need across the UK. This is an exciting organisation which really does make a positive impact on the quality of life."

Peter Ainsworth has been The National Lottery Community Fund’s UK Chair since June 2011.

He is an Environmental Consultant and a founder member of the Robertsbridge Group. He was previously a Director of Corporate Finance in a major Investment Bank. He has a 25 year record of commitment to public life having served at senior levels both as a Local Councillor and as a Member of Parliament in government and opposition.

Peter is currently chairman of two national charities, Plantlife International, and the Elgar Foundation.

Tony Burton CBE — Vice Chair and Chair of Audit & Risk

Tony Burton CBE

Tony Burton CBE is one of the Fund's general members.

"In a fast changing world The National Lottery Community Fund is on a mission to transform the lives of communities and people most in need. As Vice Chair I am delighted to be able to play a growing role in unleashing the potential of communities to improve their lives and the quality of their neighbourhoods."

Tony works free-range on a wide range of community and environmental projects, including providing support for community groups on neighbourhood planning and as Executive Chair of Sustainable Homes. He also advises HS2 on design and Lafarge Tarmac on sustainability and is a trustee of Friends of the Earth. Tony founded Civic Voice – the national charity for the civic movement – in 2010 and has over twenty five years’ experience on the Boards of national charities, including National Trust, Campaign to Protect Rural England and Design Council.

Tony is a trustee for his local civic society in Mitcham. He was awarded the CBE in the Jubilee Honours for services to planning, local government and community and can be found on twitter as @Tony4Place

Stella Everingham

Stella Everingham

Stella Everingham is a professionally qualified social worker.

Over her 30 year career she has worked both in London and in Scotland within Central and Local Government. She was also a Director of Aberlour Childcare Trust and has been a School Board member. Her focus over the years has been on children's services.

Elizabeth Passey

Elizabeth Passey

Elizabeth Passey is one of the Fund's general members.

Elizabeth is Senior Adviser J Stern & Co Family Office, and Non-Exec Director VPC Specialty Lending Investments plc. She is Convener of The University of Glasgow, Chairman of The Wye & Usk Foundation and Council Member & past Vice President of The Zoological Society of London. She is also a Programme Committee Member of WWF-UK.

She has served as a Managing Director of Morgan Stanley and Chairman of the Board of Morgan Stanley International Foundation, and as a Managing Director of Investec Asset Management. She is a past Trustee of the Isle of Dogs Community Foundation. Elizabeth is a Freeman of the Goldsmiths Company and graduated with a First Class Honours degree from The University of Glasgow.

Sian Callaghan

Sian Callaghan

Sian has worked in public relations, public affairs and marketing for 28 years in the private, public and not for profit sectors. Since July 2014 she has been Director of Communication at the Office for National Statistics in Newport.

"I was keen to join The National Lottery Community Fund committee after seeing the impact our funding has on communities’ right across Wales, and I'm delighted to be part of a team which has the interests of the people of Wales at its heart. Visiting the projects we support and hearing how we help to improve lives has been inspirational."

Sian previously worked for Centrica, the parent company of British Gas for 18 years in a variety of communication roles. She has also worked for the Welsh Federation of Housing Associations, at Mid Glamorgan County Council and has been involved in PR and marketing for a number of consumer brands, working both in Wales and across the UK.

Married to Rob, Sian lives in Cardiff. She is a past board member of Shelter Cymru and Cadwyn Housing Association and has a degree in Communication Studies.

Dr Michael Dobbins

Dr Michael Dobbins

Dr Michael Dobbins is the Principal of Ardnashee School and College and is founder and Chair of Liberty Consortium in Derry/Londonderry, an award-winning, nationally recognised, multi-sectoral body promoting inclusive play, community infrastructure and quality services for children and adults with learning disabilities.

"I am very excited about joining the team at The National Lottery Community Fund and supporting our work in enhancing local communities. It is also a great honour to be able to work for an organisation that puts communities first and I look forward to taking up my responsibilities."

He has published several papers in internationally peer-reviewed journals in both Europe and North America, authored and co-authored several reports and is the author of the book ‘Learning to Enable’.

He serves on a range of public and community sector boards and is actively committed to community leadership.

Michael is a regular speaker at conferences throughout Ireland on educational matters.

Kevin Bone

Kevin Bone

Kevin Bone is Partner and UK Head at Impact Ventures UK.

"The Fund’s focus on early action and emphasis on communities are just two aspects of the role that make me so excited to join. I am honoured to be given the opportunity to support the team in their great work."

He is a qualified accountant and experienced investment professional. He has a wealth of private sector experience and expertise in investing in social impact and governance in the social sector.

UK Funding Committee minutes

If you would like to see older agendas and minutes or those for non-current committees, please email